Our little buddy is so cool, I wanted to give an update all about him. He’ll be 18 months old in three days. Max came into this world a peaceful little fellow. He slept for the first 10 days of his life. Then he woke up and was just an easy baby. I’m sure it was a combination of his personality and our not being brand new parents (there is a yet to be written retrospective entry on us rushing Grace to the doctor’s office in our pajamas when she was 4 or 5 days old, after a night of no sleep, where we convinced ourselves that she wasn’t breathing right and was going to die, to find out that she had a booger and we needing training on the nasal aspirator. I even hit the neighbors car in my mad dash to get help). Max was a calm baby and we were much calmer parents with him. He has always had a sweet demeanor, has always smiled really easily and has always been very ticklish on the back of his neck. It is funny, in a mean sort of way, to watch his tickle reflex in action when he gets a hair cut. I have to warn the stylist that he’ll jerk away. This probably isn’t very comfortable for him, but it makes me laugh a little. We call him Mackey and Buddy, amoung other things. We thought we’d call him Reggie and had some real confusion when he first came to our family about what his name was. We’d all called him Reggie after I found out I was having a boy, and through the whole pregnancy. Before we knew he was going to be a boy, we had jokingly said that we were going to call him Reggie Jackson Barmann Marcus. And when I found out that he was going to be a boy, I was totally thrilled (Jen can back me up on this story. I was not, for the record, worried about raising a boy). When I told our news to Jen, she said, “Oh, you have a little Reggie”. It made me laugh so hard because it seemed so silly and it touched something in my heart and I just knew that I would adore this boy from a part inside of me that I didn’t know existed. So he became Maxwell Reggie. Who the heck knows where the Maxwell came from. But he’s our little buddy, he gives fabulous hugs and kisses, and laughs with such abandon. He is edible – his skin is so soft and squishy and yummy. He isn’t too much of a talker yet, but the things he does say are adorable … the words are mostly raspy sounds. He says “hush”, “bow wow wow”, and “Dah”. “Dah” means yes. It sounds exactly like a German or Russian adult saying “Dah” for yes. And he nods his head with a serious old wise man look. Max looks just like his daddy. When he was around 16 months old we were at a marshmallow roast, and he chugged a bottle of sasparilla like a little man. He loves shoes and is choosy about which ones he wants to wear each day. Where ever this boy’s spirit, name, demeanor and sense of humor came from, we are grateful for it. We love him and are blessed to be his parents.

