My father used to play with my brother and me in the yard. Mother would come out and say, “You’re tearing up the grass”; “We’re not raising grass,” Dad would reply. “We’re raising boys.” ~Harmon Killebrew

2009-february-trip-to-kc1

Max is growing into a fabulous little boy.  He is talking and it is great to hear what he has to say.  On his second birthday, he couldn’t really talk.  The next day, he started putting three, four and five words together in sentences.  I’m writing it down because I never once believed it when people said their kids didn’t talk and then one day they did.   This happened with Max, but I totally understand if it sounds unbelievable.

My heart melts when he says “mom mom”.  It is fantastic when he says ukelele, which sounds like “way wee” and crazy, which sounds like “crwayweeeeee”.  He is always talking about “dada ta”, which is Dan’s smelly car.

I am so intrigued at his propensity for electronics and mechanical devices and how clearly he is designed to be a boy, even though he still adores wearing Grace’s and my shoes.  We got him a little racecar that can be taken apart with a kid screwdriver and drill that came with it.  I watched him take the entire thing apart the other day; he went back and forth between the drill and screwdriver with skill that was so cool to watch. A tiny mechanic, he is.  With super soft cheeks and a knock out smile.  Also, you can’t listen to his laugh without also laughing.

From the minute I realized that this boy was going to be called Maxwell Reggie, I knew he would be a joy.  It is fun loving a little boy.

