“Babies don’t need a vacation but I still see them at the beach. I’ll go over to them and say, ‘What are you doing here, you’ve never worked a day in your life!’.” ~Stephen Wright
2009-OBX5

Today was our slightly crabby vacation day.  Do all families have these?  The Marcus Family was in mid-vacation funk town.  It is mind-boggling that we can trek to the end of the continent, to a beautiful spot with nothing to do but have fun and somehow we get crabbed out.   Grace was the Princess of Whiney Town.   Dan was the King of In-my-own World.  I was the Queen of Snap-out-of-it-this-is-vacation-and-I’m-tired-of-sounding-like-a-crabby-mom Land and Max was prince of Two Town (he was actually an angel). 

I understand that everyone is out of their routine (that’s what vacation is for, right?) and the kids are slightly overstimulated, undernapped and overnourished with dessert (again, isn’t that the definition of vacation?).   And we’ve spent every moment of the last 7 days within 10 feet of one another.  But please, how did we get so tired of each other when our whole intention was to be close and spend time together relaxing in paradise.  Ok, so even in paradise kids need a break from their parents and vice-versa.  I told Grace she could get a break and go to Sassy Camp in the afternoon.  She declined.

We did make some cool tie dye shirts and sit by the pool today.  And watch twelve episodes of Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.  Ok, we probably should have at least gone the half mile to the other side of the island.   I actually wondered as I was driving the kids to the next town (Duck) just to get out of the house, if we all had Island Fever.

Tomorrow is kayaking.  That should be a good change of pace from this tiring wonderland we’re in 🙂

