DSC_8136Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.  ~Kahlil Gibran

This lady told me today to try to be patient and not to expect perfection EVERY day.  This lady doesn’t know me well at all;  except that she must.  I laughed when she said those words.

I told her that this is the advice I’ve needed my whole life.  She was Pegg, my hairstylist, talking about my hair.  I’m talking about my whole life.  I really thought I had long let go of any notion of perfection, but apparently something told Pegg differently, at least when it comes to my hair.

This is why we don’t fuss too much with Grace’s hair.  We let it be free (washed and combed, of course, most of the time) and hope she’s free to focus on the wind in her hair and the grass under her feet.  Max too, but it seems simpler with a boy.  I guess the hair is easier, the acceptance of them as they are and are meant to be is the same.

