We cannot do great things on this Earth, only small things with great love. ~Mother Teresa

We are in the beginning of winter and in the midst of the holiday season.  We went out for our first holiday lights drive last Friday and to breakfast with Santa on Saturday.  The kids loved the Winter Wonderland in Tilles Park; the best part for them is wearing their jammies and sitting up front with us.  They loved Santa and all the fun at the breakfast.  Friday night, we were all tired when we got home late because we searched out a house on Grace’s route to school that has santa, a sleigh and reindeer on the roof.  We wanted to check and see if Rudoulf had a lit-up red nose at night (he did).  The kids slept in their sleeping bags in our room together.  I was urging them to go to sleep, in the way that I tend to urge at 9:00 on a Friday night when they’re still awake — basically ignoring everything they say and repeating without thinking – “go to sleep guys or you lose the privilege to sleep in our room.”  As I was walking out of the room after getting myself ready for bed, they said for the millionth time, “Mommy…”  I repeated my go to sleep mantra and they said in unison in their little voices “Happy Christmas Mommy.”  For real.  That was my shot of heaven for the weekend.  A small thing that filled me with great love and set off a good weekend.

