Brew me a cup for a winter’s night.
For the wind howls loud and the furies fight;
Spice it with love and stir it with care,
And I’ll toast our bright eyes,
my sweetheart fair.
~Minna Thomas Antrim

The mice are settling into their cozy mouse house, just in time for winter.  So are we.  The kids keep asking if it is really winter yet.  It is hard to explain that we haven’t hit the solstice, but winter is here (it has been quite cold).  The kids are both at a new level of understanding, so there is constantly something to try to explain, some of them are hard.  Here’s a sampling:

1. Is it tomorrow today?  Max asks this question every single day.  I guess it will never stop because tomorrow is always tomorrow.  I wish I could somehow insert the little lilt in his voice when he asks and especially how he draws out the todaaaaaaaaaaaay. 

2. That Jesus is a part of Christmas as well as Santa.   We talked about this while we put up our tree.  I was talking about Jesus being God’s son and Christmas being the day he was born.  Max’s response was “God had a son? I didn’t notice that.” I think he was meaning to say “I didn’t know that” but it was much funnier the way he said it.  As Max went on and on about how he didn’t notice that God had a son (and I do blame myself for him not “noticing that”), I said, “yes, isn’t that interesting?”  Grace says “I think it’s interesting that the earth and the moon revolve around the sun, that’s what I think it interesting.”  I blame Dan for that one. 

3.  That not everyone celebrates Christmas.  When Grace and I were talking about our tradition of going to church on Christmas eve and then opening presents, she said “that’s not OUR tradition, everyone does that.”  It was a great opportunity to talk about how certainly not everyone does that, including her very own grandparents who are Jewish.  Which brought us back to other topics (see #2).

It is wonderful to see the complexity of the world slowly come into place for these little ones.  The wonderfulness is that so far in our family, it has come into place very slowly.  I pray that will continue and things stay simple for them as long as it can.  I’ll toast to the simple life.

