I believe that there is a subtle magnetism in Nature, which, if we unconsciously yield to it, will direct us aright.  ~Henry David Thoreau


Today started out like a typical day, including thoughts about the small stuff.  As I was getting ready, I thought I would write a post hailing from frumpdillyicious land. 

This has been my first whole week with a gray hair. It is such a bugger, sticking straight out, in the opposite direction than the rest of my hair, at one inch high.  My brother, who never says anything but the kindest things, says this means all the new hair that is growing in is gray. 

I have been reading a friend’s blog as she posts on fashion and recently I have made some purchases inspired by her, but oh, what a long way I have to go (you’re amazing Amy).  And I’m wondering why my pant pockets insist on sticking out even though the pants fit well.

But as the day went on, Max and I settled into one of the most beautiful spring days.  We took a walk around our wooded neighborhood.  The spring sure highlights the abundant charm around here.  The pinks and soft colors peeping out of every nook and cranny were astonishing against the blue sky.  The amount of beauty we saw in our one square block walk was incredible.

We came home and continued our project of opening up our breezeway and front porch for the warm weather – we cleared out leaves, swept, washed window sills and walls.  Max is such great company for this kind of work – he scrubs and scrubs.  He should be paid.

As the day ended (after mexican food dinner on an outdoor restaurant patio, baseball on the breezeway, and then ice cream) I realized how this was one of those days that fills up my cup.  A day that ends with the feeling that we have everything, and more, than we could ever need.  At one point in the day I was longing to live in a stone house down the road from us; it has such a quaint window on the second floor that seems just dreamy to stare out of on a rainy day.  But at the end of the day, I am so thankful that we are snuggled in our cottage. 

This was a day that adjusts the mindset somehow to a place where everything is just right.  Let me just note now that I was covered in poop, again, at one point today.  But wow, we are surrounded by beauty, by kids that are just right, by abundance in so many ways. 

I want to bottle that blue sky behind the blooming red bud tree and drink that on the days that drain the cup.

