A cloud forest, also called a fog forest, is a generally tropical or subtropical, evergreen, montane, moist forest characterized by a persistent, frequent or seasonal low-level cloud cover, usually at the canopy level. ~Wikipedia

Today was our crabby vacation day. I thought we might escape it being that it is just the two of us, celebrating 10 years of marriage, in this beautiful place spoiling ourselves all week.

But the reality of what swallowing 8 quarts of sea water or eating new foods for 5 days will do to a barmann stomach set in and I woke up a bit sick. Which kicked off some question of whether or not I had cranial malaria which lead to a major case of the crabbies in the hubs.

It was a transition day to a new spot in a cloud forest, which included a road trip. It was a lovely drive through the mountains (if you could see past the bad mojo inside the car).

20130511-074647.jpg

We were the epitome of a middle aged white American couple driving through Costa Rica. Me with my aching belly and medicine induced drowsiness and Dan with his aching jumper’s knee causing him to drive while sort of standing up.

20130511-074752.jpg

But! This time we had a map. The only issue was that we were slightly off in what city we were heading towards. But Dan straightened that out while I bit my tongue, not hard enough I’m sure.

I really wish we (I) been in a better state of mind on this drive. The landscape was breathtaking and other worldly. Our destination was in a valley of a cloud forest. Our hotel is nestled in and gorgeous. We are going for hikes tomorrow and I will know more about this area after that. Can’t wait!

20130511-075221.jpg

20130511-075346.jpg

We will try to get pictures of the rest of the animals you wanted to see pooh! Love to you and Mackey.

20130511-075924.jpg

