My fear of flying starts as soon as I buckle myself in and then the guy up front mumbles a few unintelligible words then before I know it I’m thrust into the back of my seat by acceleration that seems way too fast and the rest of the trip is an endless nightmare of turbulence, of near misses. And then the cabbie drops me off at the airport. ~Dennis Miller

I am thankful to be home after a crazy busy business trip.

I am thankful for a good work day yesterday, in our new DC office. I am pleased to work with such talented people, one of our guys designed this whole office and it rocks. It is bumpy working for a tiny startup company but at the same time I’m grateful to be in the midst of it.

20140411-160644.jpg

20140411-160722.jpg

I’m glad for the resurrection and life that spring brings. Seeing spring blooms is heaven on earth. Cherry blossom leaves were blowing through the air while we ate lunch outside. Spring in DC is gorgeous. Spring anywhere is gorgeous, I guess.

20140411-160913.jpg

20140411-161416.jpg

I had a disturbing and heartbreaking phone conversation while I waited at the airport. I was feeling wrecked. I talked to a friend who helped sort things a bit and reminded me that grace is real.

I hung up and went to wait on my delayed flight when I saw a group of disabled vets- very old men, most in wheel chairs, also waiting for a flight to STL. I talked to one of the gentlemen who proudly wore his “Korea Army Vet” ball cap and thanked him for his service. He thanked me for saying that. Everyone clapped as these guys got on the plane.

As I sat down I realized that so much is taken care of for us- way beyond our own doing and I was deeply, deeply grateful. This is about a third of them; they were tickled when I asked for their picture and told them I was honored to be on a flight with them.

20140411-162623.jpg

One of the most contented feelings I have is leaving a city and heading home after hard work. A plane ride at dusk is a peaceful place.

20140411-161211.jpg

And the view of the horizon is so clear from way up there.

20140411-161307.jpg

As the plane descended into STL, it seemed as if a crash was eminent. There was some sort of storm and the plane was bouncing everywhere and the flight attendants were yelling to people to sit down. I did my usual and closed my eyes and pretended I was on a train and that all that bouncing was normal, but it bounced too much for that illusion. Then I focused on the fact that a plane full of wounded warriors returning from an honor ceremony could not go down.

Once again, thanks to the vets.

