Let gratitude be the pillow on which you kneel to say your nightly prayer.  ~Maya Angelou

It is summer break for the kids and I am so very thankful.  This has been one of the hardest years given the heartbreak that is underlying every. single. day. watching my mom fight that leukemia devil.  I am not sure I have ever been more relieved for a change in routine and a chance to reboot our commitments and refocus on the things that are essential.

And the good news is that even along with the shit storm that has been going on in my head this last nine months, EVEN SO, the good stuff is abundant.

Here’s proof:

Grace finished fourth grade yesterday and did a bit in the school talent show with her best buddies.  They worked hard and had fun and picked their own outfits and showed their true selves to their world.  And they saw the whole thing through.  I’m so grateful that Grace put herself out there like that and that she has these darling girls as friends.

IMG_8573

And I’m so grateful for these two buddies.  Their teacher complimented them on how supportive they are to each other and what a good example of friendship they embody.  True friendship is exquisite and these two have it.

photo 3

And this showed up in the mail unexpectedly.  Amen.

photo 2

And these reflections from a stained glass window gave me a little jolt of joy on Sunday.

photo 1

Ahhhhh Summer.  Thanks for showing up.

 

 

