I am happier when I love than when I am loved. I adore my husband, my son, my grandchildren, my mother, my dog, and frankly, I don’t know if they even like me. But who cares? Loving them is my joy. ~Isabel Allende

I need to take a moment and express gratitude for my husband.

He finds the good in almost every moment.  Especially the half good, kind of rotten, a little bit frustrating, ones.

IMG_0230

He is wise and patient and smart as-a-dickens.

IMG_0758

He jumps in and has fun easily in unending scenarios.

IMG_0346

He’s willing to do almost anything especially if it is slightly risky and involves being outside.

IMG_0404

Like sailing with no expertise…

IMG_0462

He’s confident, no matter what.

IMG_0483

And to him, it all goes well.

IMG_0485

And he’s right.

IMG_0489

I have learned so much from him.  Like when you need to rest, just do it.

IMG_0652

He works really hard and he makes good things happen.

IMG_0710

He does a lot to make life fun for us.  Like this drive in movie in our driveway on a 100 degree weeknight.  My idea.  100% Dan’s execution.  150%.

2015-07-28 20.53.29

He loves deeply.

2015-07-08 07.03.05

I don’t have a recent picture of him with Amy, but the way he has embraced her, welcomed her, cared for her and engulfed her with love is simply astounding.

He puts up with a ton of nonsense.

2015-06-30 13.52.16

He has a pretty simple perspective that cuts through many complexities of life with an open mind and comes back to a few basic core principles.  He’s pretty unfaltering and unflappable.

I am so grateful for him.

